Skip to content

in which I complain…

August 6, 2009

Today my children are driving me insane.  God’s honest truth.  I wish I could say that I like them today, but really, I don’t.

Crabby, snotty, back-talking, tattle-telling, smart-alec-y, grumpy, bickering, fighting, nagging, whining, bad attitudes.  That’s what we have at my house today.

I have to say that I am doing a really admirable job as Mom, given the nasties I am dealing with.  However, John has earned himself a spanking for knowingly and willingly breaking a house rule and Elizabeth has been sent away from the rest of us at least five separate times.  Ugh.  I don’t like days like today.  Even when I am keeping my wits about me and am parenting well, rather than reacting badly, it is still hard.  I get them to calm down or stop the unwanted behavior and think “phew!  A break at last!” and then it starts all over again.  Yelling and fighting and whining… oh my!  The baby is cutting his bottom two teeth and is crabby in his own right, but at least he’s still being nice… as long as I am holding him.

Sigh.  Today I will not be catching a break apparently.

Still.  I do my best to count my blessings and praise the children for what (little) they are doing right and well.  I know that I am blessed beyond measure to have all three of my children here with me.  Healthy, loved, whole and present.  Catching their eye and giving a knowing wink when a sibling is irritating… a hug when they are bugging me most… Being thankful that it is ME who is here with them always.

And just look at them.  On a better day than this.  Aren’t they wonderful?

2009 07 15 manito splash pad 006

2009 07 15 manito splash pad 011

2009 07 15 manito splash pad 039

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

