Skip to content

Zucchinis and such

August 7, 2009

So my friend (and neighbor) Denise comes knocking on my door the other day.  (Gee this sounds like the beginning of a really bad joke, doesn’t it?  It’s not, I promise.)  Anyways…  So she comes in with, seriously people, the largest zucchini I have ever seen.  Hands down.  Period. Honestly.  Truly.   And other such statements.  It’s as big as she is.  Well, that’s not saying a lot- she’s pretty tiny.  In a good way, really.  She’s just very much and a lot shorter and skinnier than I am.  But, I forgive her.

Where was I?

Oh yes.  The largest zucchini I have ever seen.  Now I remember.  I am standing in my kitchen literally laughing my ass off.  I guess not literally.  But figuratively laughing my ass off just doesn’t have the same ring, don’t you agree?  This zucchini, while not actually as large as my dear friend, is truly as big as my 10 1/2 month old son.  It had to be at least two feet long.  What the hell does one DO with such an absurdly large squash?  I don’t even really like zucchini all that much.  Just the little baby ones that don’t have that nasty bitter aftertaste.

So here I am, stuck with, yep you guessed it, the largest zucchini I have ever seen and the only thing I know to do with it is to make zucchini bread.  So that’s what I did.  A bundt cake, actually.  Because it’s prettier than a loaf and sounds nicer too.  And I care about things like that, so there.  And then while it baked and made the entire house smell exceptionally yummy, I went out into my yard and snipped a few flowers to grace my table and make me smile.

SummerAfternoon_20090807_039

All three kiddos loved it. And I only have half of, yes that’s right, the largest zucchini I have ever seen left to deal with. Anyone want a zucchini bundt cake?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kelcey permalink
    August 8, 2009 9:09 am

    So freaking funny. I hear in some parts of the world, people don’t leave their cars unlocked for fear of break-ins, but for fear that neighbors will fill them with unwanted zucchini. Thank goodness for zucchini bread & chocolate zucchini cake. I say you slice that bad boy up and grill the slices like steak. The kids will never know.

  2. Pauline permalink
    August 9, 2009 4:00 pm

    Check out allrecipes.com – I have found one fabulous zucchini recipe after another and my family loves them all. I have been sharing them with friends and neighbors and they are a hit – favorites are Zucchini Risotto, Zucchini Alfredo, Zucchini Brownies and Mom’s Zucchini Bread. I can’t take credit for any but each is fabulous!!! ENJOY!!!

Leave a Reply

