Skip to content

Because our children aren’t good with secrets…

September 11, 2009

Big news people. Big news.

Here is a slightly edited version of the email we sent out to our parents a couple of days ago. Because things are the way they are (you’ll know what I’m talking about in a minute) we feel like we need to share with family and friends earlier than others may need or want to. That choice is generally taken out of our hands by my health.

Alright. Enough with the subterfuge. On with the show.

THE EMAIL:

Oh boy. Sit yourselves down for this one…

We are (unexpectedly) pregnant.

……….edit………
Yes, we are excited.
……….edit……….

Oh, and things are about 6 weeks along.

Alright, that was more than a little editing. But you get the jist of it, right? Yep, we’re on our way to becoming a family of –gasp- six.  Parents of four.  Wowza.  

 After I got (sort of) over the shock of seeing that little plus sign, I had some words with God.  Nope, not gonna repeat them here.  Between me and God people, me and God.  Hoo-wee.  To say that we were surprised would be an understatment.  No, we weren’t trying to get pregnant.  In fact, according to The Monthly Womanly Calendar (you know what I’m talkin’ about ladies…) this shouldn’t have even been in the realm of possibilities.  Trust me.  I count.  I counted and recounted and recounted again.  I peed on another stick two days later.  I counted some more.  I had a few more words with God.  Good words, I tell you.  SHOCKED good words, but good words nonetheless.  In between my maniacally-crazed laughter at that plus sign, of course.

We make great babies.  No doubt this newest little one will be just as great.  We trust that God knows what He is doing.  Hahahahahaha- we sure don’t!!!!  (My maniacally-crazy laughter again- do you hear it??)  Seriously though, this is unexpected and also such a welcome blessing.  We’re a bit freaked out about the first 14-16 weeks… many of you know and have witnessed first-hand how insanely sick I get and how the hyperemisis wreaks havoc on me, all the while growing a healthy and miraculous baby.  This leaves my sweet husband and children to pick up the pieces around me.  Chris is getting to be an old-hat at this “What to do while the wife is nearly, if not completely, incapacitated for nearly two solid months”, so he is truly calm and collected about doing it all over again -and SO SOON.   Oh he is such a lovely, heaven-sent complement to my uh… not-so-calm and collected self.

I’ll keep you posted.  Really.  I’m reeeaaalllly hoping to not disappear completely over these next harried weeks.  I am already prepared to ask for the meds (the good stuff right from the get-go, thankyouverymuch) at my first appointment in another week and a half.  I mean, really.  I just don’t have the time to get knocked on my butt- there are three other little people in my world -shoot- that are my world– and I can’t bear to feel neglectful of them and their needs.  Elizabeth and John will fare better and more easily, but our Little William… goodness he’s still a baby himself!  His first birthday is a week away and he’s already on his way to being a big brother.  Oh boy. 

Do we trust God and know that his plan is best?  Oh yeah.  You better believe it.

What else could we do? (Her maniacal laughter fades…)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

