Skip to content

Conversations with John

October 4, 2010

I have to record this one for posterity’s sake. Some day it will be great to pull out of my mama-arsenal.

Preface to The Conversation: Yesterday we were playfully suggesting to John that HE ought to be the one to change a poopy diaper. You can imagine his response, right? Six-year-old boy emphatically and vehemently declaring NO THANKYOUVERYMUCH. I tried to persuade him with the fact that his future wife and mother of his future children would really, really appreciate his knowing how to quickly wrangle and change diapers of anyone under the age of three.

WHOOSH.

That was the sound of that fact zooming right over John’s head. A point my husband laughingly made to me. “Bring that up again in about 15 years, Hon.”

So that was the end of it. Or so I thought. Apparently John went on to think about it a bit more overnight and here’s the completely random, out of nowhere conversation he started in the car this morning while we returned the carpet cleaner to the rental place:

John: You know, I CAN change diapers. I just don’t WANT to.

Me: That’s fine, you don’t have to.

John: I know HOW to. First you undo the snaps (side note: we use cloth diapers, hence the snap reference), then you wipe all the parts. I know how to do that, ’cause I’ve watched you, Mama. Then you put the new one on. Done!

John: It’s just the stink. You have to understand the stink. That’s why I don’t change diapers.

 

Understand the stink.

I love it!!! For all the times that kid can drive me up the wall, man, can he make his Mama smile!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. MOM permalink
    October 6, 2010 4:38 pm

    I love the story and that picture of John -look at his arm for cryin’out loud! That boy keeps getting handsomer each time I look at him. He’s going to make girls crazy, just watch!

    • October 6, 2010 4:51 pm

      Thanks, Mama! I have to agree with you about John- not that we’re biased or anything! :)

Leave a Reply

