Skip to content

Raspberries

July 28, 2011

We love raspberries of all sorts around here… the eating kind and the tummy-blowing kind!

This morning was all about the eating kind. We were up and out of the house by 7 am. That’s a really big deal ’round these parts.

Here’s our haul:

Beyond muffins and eating lots of them as-is, I don’t have any grand plans for these beauties yet.

The boys had a grand time covering themselves in dust and dirt, stuffing their faces with sun-warmed berries, and playing with our friends we met up at the fields. I didn’t bring my camera out into the field with me, but trust me when I tell you that the image of Matthew covered, literally, head to toe in dirt, raspberry juice running down his chin, mingling with the dirt there to create a muddy, juicy mess will forever be etched my mommy-memory. Joy. Pure joy.

We were all prepped to go straight to Zumba (and child-care) afterwards, but the amount of dirt caked under nails and in diapers and goodness knows where else, changed our plans to have us head straight home to the tub instead. Oh good gravy, the dirt ring around the tub and chunks of dirt on the bottom of the tub… If the amount of dirt has any relation to the amount of fun had by all, then I say we had a very good morning.

Matty, after bath and nap, slightly miffed that I paused to take his picture instead of getting him more berries immediately.

Oh, those lips and those eyes! Couldn’t you just eat him up?! We do… hence the presence of the other kind of raspberries in our house, too. :)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kirstin L permalink
    July 28, 2011 4:40 pm

    So I am on google reader going through all my blogs and I start reading this entry not even realizing who’s blog this is and as soon as I see the name Matty I think of you. Then I get to the picture and am like wait I know a kid who looks a lot like that kid. And then of course the lightbulb turns on and I realize that is Matty. ha ha. I am such a dork.

  2. MOM permalink
    August 1, 2011 5:53 pm

    love the photo of Matty – his little lips are so beautiful. Hey, when can we see photos of John’s birthday? Missing him ( and everyone!)
    Mom

Leave a Reply

